Online Help

Help Table of Contents

Site Management

(Reports and Tools Website Administrator only)

The Site Management area of the Reports and Tools page is available to Website Administrators only. Click a topic link for details about that task:

Totalling Item by Content Type

View a the total amount of items for all content types within a site. The report includes the Web Page, Image, and File base types. It does not include the Post/Comment type used for Comments.

Note: The Content Type Inventory report does not count Includes as items of the Web Page base type, but the Content Type Items page for the Web Page base type does. If your site has Includes, these two item counts may differ.

To list item counts by content type:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click Content Type Inventory under Site Management. The number of items for each base type (File, Image, and Page) is listed.
  3. Click the name of a base type to view the totals by the default base type and it's extended types.
  4. Click the name of a content type to display the type's administration page.

Customizing the Spell Checker

The Custom Spelling Dictionary allows you to add and delete words as necessary so that spell checks do not ask you about commonly-used, custom words.

To add words to your dictionary: 

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click Custom Spelling Dictionary under Site Management. The Custom Dictionary displays.
  3. In the Add Word field, enter a word and press Enter. The word displays in the dictionary.

To delete words from your dictionary:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click Custom Spelling Dictionary under Site Management. The Custom Dictionary displays.
  3. Click the Delete button (a red X) next to a word. The word is removed from the dictionary.

Adding a Custom Error Message Page

The Error Pages link allows you to create a custom Page not Found or 404 page for your site. The error page displays to site visitors who are trying to access a nonexistent page, such as an expired link or a incorrect URL.

If a custom page is not specified, a generic error message displays such as: "Error 404 - The requested page was not found."

To add a custom error message page:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click Error Page under Site Management. The Error Page selector displays.
  3. Click Browse to navigate to a page and click OK.
  4. Click Save. You have added a custom error page.

Limiting the Number of Document Versions

The Document Versioning link allows you to limit the number of versions on your site for each of these base content types: Web Page, Image, File, and XML Files. Setting a version limit can be critical depending on your organization's data storage quota allocation. The version limits apply to the base content types and to all extended types based on it.

Note: If versioning is not enabled on a site, only the current Draft and Live versions are stored and authors will not be able to revert to previous versions. Versioning is automatically disabled for any files that exceed a maximum size (specified during site configuration) to ensure that a small number of large files do not consume the bulk of a Web site's storage quota.

To obtain a storage usage report, please contact your Account Manager.

To configure the version limits by content type:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click Document Versioning under Site Management. The Version Limit page displays.
  3. Select the version limit for each content type and click Save.

    Note: The maximum number of versions is 25; when the maximum is reached, the oldest version is removed first.

Configuring Preview Users

Creating preview users allows administrators to view personalized and other sensitive content in preview mode. By default only the anonymous Visitor preview is available. (The Visitor preview user cannot be removed or changed.) Only Constituents in Constituent360 (not Administrators) can be selected as a preview user.

You can define up to ten (10) total preview users, not including the default Visitor. Once the limit of 10 is reached, the next preview user added deletes the oldest existing one, following the first-in, first-out rule.

To add a preview user:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > Preview Users. The Preview Users page displays.
  2. Click the Add Users button. The Add Preview Users dialog displays.
  3. Enter a search string and click Go. You can enter the first name, last name, Website Explorer or email address of a user.
  4. Select the user and click OK. The user displays in the list.

    You can define up to ten (10) total preview users, not including the default Visitor. Once the limit of 10 is reached, the next preview user added deletes the oldest existing one, following the first-in, first-out rule.

To delete a preview user:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > Preview Users. The Preview Users page displays.
  2. On the Preview Users page, select a user and click the Remove Users icon.

Managing Website Administrators

Click the Website Administrators link under Site Management to:

To assign the Website Administrator role to a person or a group:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click Website Administrators under Site Management. The Website Permissions page appears. If the list is empty, there are no existing Website Administrators for the current site.
  3. Select whether you are granting permission to a person or an admin group, then enter a full or partial name or email.
  4. Click Search to display all matching persons or administrative groups.
  5. Click the Change link for the desired person or group to change the role assignment. The Change Permissions page displays.
  6. Select the Website Administrator radio button, and click Change.

To revoke the Website Administrator role for a person or a group:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click the Change link for the desired person or group. The Change Permissions page displays.
  3. Click the Change link for the desired person or group. The Change Permissions page displays.
  4. Select the None radio button, and click Change. That person or group is no longer listed on the Website Permissions page.

To navigate to a different host in the host group:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click Hosts in the Site Management section. The list of Hosts displays.
  3. Click a site name and the Website Explorer for that host displays.

    Note: You can only navigate to sites where you have an administrative role (Website Administrator, Folder Manager, or Folder Author).

Configuring Folder Permissions Search

The Configure Folder Permissions Search link allows you specify the Group Types that are available when assigning Folder Permissions. For more information on assigning folder-level permissions, see Managing Folder Permission in Luminate CMS.

Note: A Group Type in Luminate Online may contain multiple security groups. A single group may only be assigned to one Group Type.

To navigate to a different host in the host group:

  1. Click Reports and Tools > All Reports and Tools.
  2. Click Configure Folder Permissions Search in the Site Management section. The list of Group Types displays.
  3. Select the groups that can be assigned folder-level roles and click Save.

    If select no Group Types, Folder Managers can select from all the group types when assigning roles (the default). When you select one or more group types, only the selected group types and the groups they contain are available in Folder Permissions for role assignment.